|
Casual Articles - Banner or Pay-per-Click - Which On-Line Advertisement Suits Your Business?
How to Make Money With Blogs?Making money with blogs can be hard to do. You will also have to spend a lot of time operating your blog. However, the payoff in the end is well worth it.To make money with blogs, you have to sign up for a free blog. The most popular place for blogs is blogger.com. Once you set up a blog, you need to make sure you pick something you know about before you start blogging about it. Do research if you do not know about the subject. Let us say you want to make a blog about pizza, you want a few recipes, well research some recipes.Once you do that, sign up for Google Adsense. Add the Adsense code to your blog and people will click on the ads if they like them. You will be making money in no time. There are other ways to make money with blogs also.Here are some tips on great blog.1. Stay on topic. Opinions are generally accepted but the content of the items in the blog should all relate to a general theme. Unless you have an uncanny knack o matter what is the number of impressions. In time-based banner advertisements (typical in India), advertiser pays a fixed fee based on monthly or quarterly rate, irrespective of the number of impression or click-thorough. Types of Banners Advertisements Traditional banner ads were static in nature - usually a .gif or .jpeg image file. With technology advancing - new modes of banner ads appeared in ad scene. Following are some of the popular modes of dynamic banner ads - Expanding - Banner gets bigger on clicking - often have a button labeled "Expand". Rather than jumping to another website - these banners simply open up and reveal more information
- Animated - Common mode of banner ad these days. However, too many images/messages may render such banners hopelessly large in size, slow and downright irritating. Exercise caution on banner design
- Drop-Down Menu - These have embedded HTML and allow the user to choose options from a drop-down menu. This mode of banner is ideal for co-op advertising where several businesses can advertise together
- Interstitial - These appear in a sep
Online Business- What Makes It a Success!Only a few manage to sell everything under the sun over the internet. There are billions of web sites running online business, trying to outdo each other by various means.But only a few succeed in building, promoting and sustaining a profitable, professional, successful online business. Only a few web sites are able to deliver what they preach and make sale.How do they do it? Some magic formula....??? Nope ;-)What they do is -Plan, Develop and Strategize- their efforts in building a successful online business. They paln their moves or strategies wisely and invest intelligently on services and products that help them build, promote and grow their online business.What kind of products or services do they use?
Good question....:-)There are many services and products that helps in developing an online business, but none comes across Site Build It!Site Build It! (SBI!) is the only all-in-one site-building, site-hosting, a Banners are perhaps the oldest and most common mode of advertisement in the Internet. In its simplest form - it acts like a billboard, spreading a promotional message and helping interested visitors to visit concerned web-site.Difference between a physical billboard and on-line banner advertisement lies in ability of the later to measure campaign effectiveness. Unlike traditional ad media like TV or print where measuring audience response is difficult - its possible to obtain clear and accurate measurements of success or failure of on-line ads through web traffic analysis. How good is banner advertisement for your business ? Should you adopt this known and trusted method or prefer new ones like search engine based Pay-per-Click (PPC) advertising ? The answer lies in your requirement and an understanding of what banner advertisement can deliver. Let us discuss various concepts associated with on-line advertisement and analyze how banner advertisement works. Banner or Pay-per-Click - What Kind of On-Line Advertisement Suits my Business ? An Organization usually creates online advertising campaign for achieving following goals: - Building brand awareness
- Increasing website traffic
- Creating leads and sales
You need to analyze your precise requirements and prioritize the objectives of planned ad campaign. If the objective is brand building or pure promotion - banner advertisement is ideally suited. However, if you are more keen on leads and sales - targeted advertisements such as search engine marketing could be better option. In many cases - a mix of banner ad and search engine marketing could be the answer.Key Concepts Associated with On-Line Advertisement Before proceeding any further, it is important to understand a few key concepts associated with on-line advertisements in general and banner advertisement in particular. Impression Impression is a measure of how many times an ad has been viewed. How many people have viewed a banner ad or received an "impression" by seeing the ad - is a measurement of responses from the ad delivery system. Once a visitor has viewed a banner on a web page - an impression is recorded. Banner views are different from page views in the sense that there may be multiple banner views within one page view. There is another distinction between page view and banner view - some banner serving software do not count a banner view unless the visitor stays on the page long enough for the banner to be fully downloaded from ad server. CPM CPM refers to cost per thousand (M here stands for 'Mille' - the Roman numeral used to represent 1000). CPM is commonly used by the advertising industry to describe how many people have viewed the banner ad (ad view) or received an "impression" by seeing the ad. In other words, this is the price an advertiser pays for displaying his/her banner 1,000 times. For example, an advertising rate of $10 CPM, means the advertiser is paying $10 for every 1,000 impressions, or $0.01 for each banner impression. CTR or Click-Through When a visitor gets interested in promotional message of a banner, he/she clicks on it to learn more and is automatically transported to advertiser website. Every time someone clicks on the banner, it is called a "click- through," and the "click-through rate" is expressed in terms of percentage of users who click on an advertisement (i.e. ratio of ad clicks to ad impressions). In other words, click through ratio is an indication of effectiveness of the a banner. How Advertiser Pays for Banner Advertisement Universally, there are two modes of payment for banner ad - In some countries like India - there is a third mode of payment based on duration of time a banner is hosted on a web-site. Typically, special server-based software called 'ad-server' rotates banner ads in specified places of a web-site. It also keep track of impressions, click-thorough and other vital statistics. In CPM mode of payment - advertiser pays for number of impressions based on an agreed CPM. For example, if a site charges US$ 9 per CPM - for $450 the advertiser gets $450 / $9 CPM * 1000 = 50,000 impressions If percentage of click thorough is 2 - 4%, advertiser may expect ~ 1000 - 2000 new customers visiting his/her web-site. This is apart from brand building based on number of impressions. In Click-Through mode - Advertisers pays a fixed fee for every click, no matter what is the number of impressions. In time-based banner advertisements (typical in India), advertiser pays a fixed fee based on monthly or quarterly rate, irrespective of the number of impression or click-thorough.Types of Banners Advertisements Traditional banner ads were static in nature - usually a .gif or .jpeg image file. With technology advancing - new modes of banner ads appeared in ad scene. Following are some of the popular modes of dynamic banner ads - Expanding - Banner gets bigger on clicking - often have a button labeled "Expand". Rather than jumping to another website - these banners simply open up and reveal more information
- Animated - Common mode of banner ad these days. However, too many images/messages may render such banners hopelessly large in size, slow and downright irritating. Exercise caution on banner design
- Drop-Down Menu - These have embedded HTML and allow the user to choose options from a drop-down menu. This mode of banner is ideal for co-op advertising where several businesses can advertise together
- Interstitial - These appear in a sepa
3 Mandatory Tools for the Super Money-Making Affiliate MarketerDo I have what it takes to become a super affiliate marketer?
What are the ingredients of an affiliate marketing success
story? Is there a shortcut strategy to affiliate marketing
brilliance? All these questions linger around in the minds of
affiliate marketers who desire to make it big in this business.Although affiliate marketing is publicized as one of the easiest
and most effective ways to generate money online, it is not as
easy as it appears to be. The shrewd affiliate marketer plans
every action and implements every action the best way he can. He
should also increase the potential to earn by utilizing the
right tools necessary for a thriving affiliate marketing
business. I have sought advice from some of the most successful
affiliate marketers in the business for you and below are the
top three mandatory tools for a successful affiliate marketing
business.Important Tool #1: Your Own WebsiteThe most important and indisp hieving following goals:- Building brand awareness
- Increasing website traffic
- Creating leads and sales
You need to analyze your precise requirements and prioritize the objectives of planned ad campaign. If the objective is brand building or pure promotion - banner advertisement is ideally suited. However, if you are more keen on leads and sales - targeted advertisements such as search engine marketing could be better option. In many cases - a mix of banner ad and search engine marketing could be the answer.Key Concepts Associated with On-Line Advertisement Before proceeding any further, it is important to understand a few key concepts associated with on-line advertisements in general and banner advertisement in particular. Impression Impression is a measure of how many times an ad has been viewed. How many people have viewed a banner ad or received an "impression" by seeing the ad - is a measurement of responses from the ad delivery system. Once a visitor has viewed a banner on a web page - an impression is recorded. Banner views are different from page views in the sense that there may be multiple banner views within one page view. There is another distinction between page view and banner view - some banner serving software do not count a banner view unless the visitor stays on the page long enough for the banner to be fully downloaded from ad server. CPM CPM refers to cost per thousand (M here stands for 'Mille' - the Roman numeral used to represent 1000). CPM is commonly used by the advertising industry to describe how many people have viewed the banner ad (ad view) or received an "impression" by seeing the ad. In other words, this is the price an advertiser pays for displaying his/her banner 1,000 times. For example, an advertising rate of $10 CPM, means the advertiser is paying $10 for every 1,000 impressions, or $0.01 for each banner impression. CTR or Click-Through When a visitor gets interested in promotional message of a banner, he/she clicks on it to learn more and is automatically transported to advertiser website. Every time someone clicks on the banner, it is called a "click- through," and the "click-through rate" is expressed in terms of percentage of users who click on an advertisement (i.e. ratio of ad clicks to ad impressions). In other words, click through ratio is an indication of effectiveness of the a banner. How Advertiser Pays for Banner Advertisement Universally, there are two modes of payment for banner ad - In some countries like India - there is a third mode of payment based on duration of time a banner is hosted on a web-site. Typically, special server-based software called 'ad-server' rotates banner ads in specified places of a web-site. It also keep track of impressions, click-thorough and other vital statistics. In CPM mode of payment - advertiser pays for number of impressions based on an agreed CPM. For example, if a site charges US$ 9 per CPM - for $450 the advertiser gets $450 / $9 CPM * 1000 = 50,000 impressions If percentage of click thorough is 2 - 4%, advertiser may expect ~ 1000 - 2000 new customers visiting his/her web-site. This is apart from brand building based on number of impressions. In Click-Through mode - Advertisers pays a fixed fee for every click, no matter what is the number of impressions. In time-based banner advertisements (typical in India), advertiser pays a fixed fee based on monthly or quarterly rate, irrespective of the number of impression or click-thorough.Types of Banners Advertisements Traditional banner ads were static in nature - usually a .gif or .jpeg image file. With technology advancing - new modes of banner ads appeared in ad scene. Following are some of the popular modes of dynamic banner ads - Expanding - Banner gets bigger on clicking - often have a button labeled "Expand". Rather than jumping to another website - these banners simply open up and reveal more information
- Animated - Common mode of banner ad these days. However, too many images/messages may render such banners hopelessly large in size, slow and downright irritating. Exercise caution on banner design
- Drop-Down Menu - These have embedded HTML and allow the user to choose options from a drop-down menu. This mode of banner is ideal for co-op advertising where several businesses can advertise together
- Interstitial - These appear in a sep
Freelancers and Entrepreneurs -- Let's Examine Our Present and Recently Past InfluencesWhat are the influences that are either helping or hindering you in your business and personal life? By making ourselves aware of them, we are more likely to work toward positive changes. In this article, my goal is to get you to examine your present and recently past influences.The people we know, work and play with. Yes, we are heavily influenced by the people we let into our lives. If we hang out with negative, critical, complaining people, we can easily lose our enthusiasm and drive. If we join groups and make friends with those we want to emulate, we will be on our way. It is just like tennis and chess. The way one gets better is to play with someone who is better than we are. I am not suggesting that you drop the friends you have now, but I am suggesting that you join groups of winners, network with people who are known as successes and volunteer for worthy causes.Life-long learning with books, tapes and magazines. It page views in the sense that there may be multiple banner views within one page view. There is another distinction between page view and banner view - some banner serving software do not count a banner view unless the visitor stays on the page long enough for the banner to be fully downloaded from ad server.CPM CPM refers to cost per thousand (M here stands for 'Mille' - the Roman numeral used to represent 1000). CPM is commonly used by the advertising industry to describe how many people have viewed the banner ad (ad view) or received an "impression" by seeing the ad. In other words, this is the price an advertiser pays for displaying his/her banner 1,000 times. For example, an advertising rate of $10 CPM, means the advertiser is paying $10 for every 1,000 impressions, or $0.01 for each banner impression. CTR or Click-Through When a visitor gets interested in promotional message of a banner, he/she clicks on it to learn more and is automatically transported to advertiser website. Every time someone clicks on the banner, it is called a "click- through," and the "click-through rate" is expressed in terms of percentage of users who click on an advertisement (i.e. ratio of ad clicks to ad impressions). In other words, click through ratio is an indication of effectiveness of the a banner. How Advertiser Pays for Banner Advertisement Universally, there are two modes of payment for banner ad - In some countries like India - there is a third mode of payment based on duration of time a banner is hosted on a web-site. Typically, special server-based software called 'ad-server' rotates banner ads in specified places of a web-site. It also keep track of impressions, click-thorough and other vital statistics. In CPM mode of payment - advertiser pays for number of impressions based on an agreed CPM. For example, if a site charges US$ 9 per CPM - for $450 the advertiser gets $450 / $9 CPM * 1000 = 50,000 impressions If percentage of click thorough is 2 - 4%, advertiser may expect ~ 1000 - 2000 new customers visiting his/her web-site. This is apart from brand building based on number of impressions. In Click-Through mode - Advertisers pays a fixed fee for every click, no matter what is the number of impressions. In time-based banner advertisements (typical in India), advertiser pays a fixed fee based on monthly or quarterly rate, irrespective of the number of impression or click-thorough.Types of Banners Advertisements Traditional banner ads were static in nature - usually a .gif or .jpeg image file. With technology advancing - new modes of banner ads appeared in ad scene. Following are some of the popular modes of dynamic banner ads - Expanding - Banner gets bigger on clicking - often have a button labeled "Expand". Rather than jumping to another website - these banners simply open up and reveal more information
- Animated - Common mode of banner ad these days. However, too many images/messages may render such banners hopelessly large in size, slow and downright irritating. Exercise caution on banner design
- Drop-Down Menu - These have embedded HTML and allow the user to choose options from a drop-down menu. This mode of banner is ideal for co-op advertising where several businesses can advertise together
- Interstitial - These appear in a sep
Have You Fallen Prey To The Multi-Level Marketing Money MythI suppose most people that have looked at (work from home or work at home ) business opportunities, have looked at - or tried - some MLM program at one time or another. We have seen the circles or the numbers, you know - if you get three and they get three etc. When it comes to putting the plan into action it seems that all those numbers and the promised income were really just a myth.Well, let's take a look at some real numbers and at the real myth. If you take the most Basic MLM plan that is 5 levels deep and you get just $1 per month as your share from each person below you on each of your 5 levels, the numbers can be pretty enticing. For example, let's look at the numbers with this minimal scenario of $1 from each level.Do you know, that if you recruited just 1 person a month, who used the product or service (giving you your $1 from them) and they then recruited just 1 per month who did the same, in 3 years you would be making $119,000 ssed in terms of percentage of users who click on an advertisement (i.e. ratio of ad clicks to ad impressions). In other words, click through ratio is an indication of effectiveness of the a banner.How Advertiser Pays for Banner Advertisement Universally, there are two modes of payment for banner ad - In some countries like India - there is a third mode of payment based on duration of time a banner is hosted on a web-site. Typically, special server-based software called 'ad-server' rotates banner ads in specified places of a web-site. It also keep track of impressions, click-thorough and other vital statistics. In CPM mode of payment - advertiser pays for number of impressions based on an agreed CPM. For example, if a site charges US$ 9 per CPM - for $450 the advertiser gets $450 / $9 CPM * 1000 = 50,000 impressions If percentage of click thorough is 2 - 4%, advertiser may expect ~ 1000 - 2000 new customers visiting his/her web-site. This is apart from brand building based on number of impressions. In Click-Through mode - Advertisers pays a fixed fee for every click, no matter what is the number of impressions. In time-based banner advertisements (typical in India), advertiser pays a fixed fee based on monthly or quarterly rate, irrespective of the number of impression or click-thorough.Types of Banners Advertisements Traditional banner ads were static in nature - usually a .gif or .jpeg image file. With technology advancing - new modes of banner ads appeared in ad scene. Following are some of the popular modes of dynamic banner ads - Expanding - Banner gets bigger on clicking - often have a button labeled "Expand". Rather than jumping to another website - these banners simply open up and reveal more information
- Animated - Common mode of banner ad these days. However, too many images/messages may render such banners hopelessly large in size, slow and downright irritating. Exercise caution on banner design
- Drop-Down Menu - These have embedded HTML and allow the user to choose options from a drop-down menu. This mode of banner is ideal for co-op advertising where several businesses can advertise together
- Interstitial - These appear in a sep
Simple Business Plan; Preparing One That Will Work For Your BusinessCreating and starting your own business should be an exciting and thrilling time in your life. And a simple business plan can help. Many people dream of striking out on their own and creating their own financial future, but few have the courage and the skill it takes to succeed in this competitive world.Those who have such a bold vision should be encouraged every step of the way. It is hard to overestimate the importance of the entrepreneurial spirit to the success of the nation as a whole.== Getting Outside Funding For Your Business==It is also hard to overestimate the importance of having a solid simple business plan to the success of the new startup business. A complete and accurate business plan is a necessary first step toward getting the financing that will be needed to create a new business.Few new businesses can succeed without some form of outside funding, and a properly executed business plan is the key to getti o matter what is the number of impressions. In time-based banner advertisements (typical in India), advertiser pays a fixed fee based on monthly or quarterly rate, irrespective of the number of impression or click-thorough.Types of Banners Advertisements Traditional banner ads were static in nature - usually a .gif or .jpeg image file. With technology advancing - new modes of banner ads appeared in ad scene. Following are some of the popular modes of dynamic banner ads - Expanding - Banner gets bigger on clicking - often have a button labeled "Expand". Rather than jumping to another website - these banners simply open up and reveal more information
- Animated - Common mode of banner ad these days. However, too many images/messages may render such banners hopelessly large in size, slow and downright irritating. Exercise caution on banner design
- Drop-Down Menu - These have embedded HTML and allow the user to choose options from a drop-down menu. This mode of banner is ideal for co-op advertising where several businesses can advertise together
- Interstitial - These appear in a separate window as the website loads. These ads often contain large graphics, animation, and streaming presentations.
- Java, Flash, and Shockwave - These allow for rich media presentation including video and audio. Common browser toolbars such as Alexa, Google etc. suppress this type of banners
- Floating Ads and DHTML - These banners float over the content a website and generally perceived as intrusive, although they do get a high click-through rate.
- Unicast - These are just like little TV ads that run in a separate window.
Checklist for Banner Designers Here's a few things to keep in mind while creating banner ad - Keep it Simple: Stay simple. Don't get too complicated with heavy text and confusing colors.
- Make it smaller in size: preferably under 12K. This way - the banner will be quick to load.
- Make it Easy-to-read
- Always use ALT tags for text display on those surfing without images
- Verify that the banner clicks-through to the appropriate page on your website
- Limit your use of animation
- Include a call to action (e.g. Order Now, Visit Web-Site etc.)
- Test your banners in different browsers at different screen resolutions.
- Get your web designer to make your banner ads for you in a variety of standard sizes if you are not experienced in advertising.
Conclusion Lack of targeting and visitor apathy are two major drawbacks of banner ad campaigns. Because of large scale use or misuse - visitors today treat banners as necessary evil and pay little attention. Click through rate of banner ads are much lower compared to other forms of on-line advertisement such as targeted search engine marketing. However, banner ads are more effective in brand building and work very well when the creative is attractive and ad delivery systems can do some targeting.
HTTP = HTML link (for blogs, profiles,phorums):
<a href="http://www.casualarticles.com/article/67816/casualarticles-Banner-or-PayperClick--Which-OnLine-Advertisement-Suits-Your-Business.html">Banner or Pay-per-Click - Which On-Line Advertisement Suits Your Business?</a>
BB link (for phorums):
[url=http://www.casualarticles.com/article/67816/casualarticles-Banner-or-PayperClick--Which-OnLine-Advertisement-Suits-Your-Business.html]Banner or Pay-per-Click - Which On-Line Advertisement Suits Your Business?[/url]
Related Articles:
The Ostrich Sales Reporting Syndrome
Do you act like an Ostrich when it comes to month end sales reports and forecasts? One of the biggest reasons a salesperson or sales manager has a problem with sales reports is usually associated with the lack of a sales process or selling system. Systems and processes are the key to solving many sales management and reporting issues.
You've Got a Great Business, but Nobody Cares!
I would like to share a disturbing little secret with you. Almost 70% of the people you do face-to-face business, with will never speak to you again! It's not that they didn't like you or get value from your services, but they just don't care. Find out more...
Learn To Keep Focused Like Wildly Success Online Marketers
What do Donald Trump, Bill Gates, Walt Disney or any other high achieving entrepreneur have in common? They have mastered the ability to keep their focus allowing them to get things done turning their dreams, aspirations and goals into real results. Here are 5 tips you can use to master staying in focus.
|